3 simple steps to lose weight as fast as possible. Read now

Do vegans eat gluten?

The short answer: yes, vegans eat gluten.

Veganism has nothing to do with gluten. Gluten-free diets and vegan diets are completely different. While some vegans may happen to be gluten-free too, due to allergies or intolerances or some other diet goals, there’s otherwise no connection.

This article is based on scientific evidence, written by experts, and fact-checked by experts.
We look at both sides of the argument and strive to be objective, unbiased, and honest.
Do vegans eat gluten?
Last updated on January 15, 2023, and last reviewed by an expert on August 24, 2021.

There are all kinds of new terms being used nowadays with regards to special diets. Unfortunately, there’s a lot of misinformation about them as well. You’ve probably heard of the saying, ‘you are what you eat. This makes it very important to understand and stay informed about what each diet entails and what it does to your body before diving in.

Do vegans eat gluten?

Two of the popular diets right now are vegan and gluten-free diets. A lot of people equate the two lifestyles and I’m not sure how this even started because there’s no real link between the two. If you are confused about how these two are related, you have come to the right place to find out.

So, do vegans eat gluten? Yes, they do. Gluten is not an animal product or by-product but rather a group of proteins found in many grains. Many vegan types of meat also contain it. That being said, some vegans may avoid gluten due to allergies, intolerances, personal preferences, or some other diet goals.

An awareness of the vegan diet has risen dramatically in recent years. Unfortunately, there’s still a lot of conflicting information about what is or isn’t suitable for vegans to consume. In this article, I’ll be covering a common misunderstanding and frequently asked questions surrounding vegan and gluten-free diets. Many people assume that if you are one, then you are automatically the other.

But nothing could be further from the truth. I’ll go over the differences between the two diets and some related topics and hopefully, by the end of this text, you will be able to make informed decisions about your dietary needs concerning these two popular diets.

In this article

Veganism vs gluten-free diet

We’ve already seen that vegan and gluten-free diets are not the same; however, let’s take a step back in the following sections and try to understand what each diet entails, and in so doing, I may well answer a lot of other questions you might have.

Vegan Calculator What's your environmental impact of living vegan? Calculate your Saves

What is gluten?

It’s a group of proteins found in various cereal grains, including wheat and its hybrids, rye, barley, oats, and triticale. These grains commonly appear in a wide variety of foods, especially bread, pasta, and pastries. Gluten in foods gives them a glue-like consistency. For instance, if you pull a loaf of freshly baked bread, you’ll find that it’s is stringy and fluffy with a chewy texture. Beyond baked goods, many vegan types of meat also contain gluten. That’s because they rely on seitan as the base ingredient to provide them with their meaty chewiness.

What is a gluten-free diet?

It’s a diet that excludes all foods containing gluten, including bread, baked goods, cereals, pasta, etc. An ingredients list that includes barley, rye, triticale, wheat germ, wheat bran, bulgur, durum wheat, farro, and Kamut just to name a few, means that a particular product contains gluten. Many gluten-free kinds of cereal are also often contaminated with gluten during processing, so pay attention to that.

What is veganism?

It is a lifestyle that seeks to eliminate (as much as possible) the use of animal products and by-products, as well as those that use animal-based ingredients in their processing due to health, ethical, and/or environmental concerns. Beyond food, veganism also extends to avoiding any clothing, upholstery, or activity that harms, exploits, or endangers animals.

Should I go vegan? Wondering if you should become vegan? Take this quiz and we'll tell you if you should become vegan. Start Quiz

Is gluten vegan friendly?

Now that you understand what each diet entails, it’s time to see whether or not vegans can eat gluten. We’ve already determined that gluten is a naturally occurring element in plant foods, meaning it’s not derived from animals and is, of course, vegan-friendly.

Can you be vegan and gluten-free?

While it’s okay for vegans to consume gluten, some may choose to avoid it for reasons I will cover later. It’s possible to be both vegan and gluten-free. This would entail avoiding all animal-based products and those that contain gluten.

It may be a bit difficult to find viable food to consume but there are a good number of options out there if you know where and how to look for them. Some of the foods you can eat on a vegan gluten-free diet include:

In addition to the above foods, there is also an increasing number of vegan gluten-free food products that are available in specialty supermarkets and grocery stores, including baking mixes, pizzas, microwave dinners, and so on.

Gluten-free foods list: 54 foods you can eat
Suggested read: Gluten-free foods list: 54 foods you can eat

Why do some vegans avoid gluten?

While vegans can eat gluten, some avoid it for personal preference or in the hopes of leading a healthier lifestyle. Also, gluten is one of the hardest foods to digest; as such, people with digestive problems may feel better if they avoid it.

That said, remember to talk to your healthcare provider before going completely vegan and gluten-free to ensure you maintain a balanced diet.

More seriously, some people avoid gluten due to medical conditions such as:

Celiac disease

This is an autoimmune disease where eating gluten produces an allergic response that inflames the bowels. With continued exposure to gluten, the lining of the small intestines can break down and cause all manner of serious issues. Celiac disease is incurable and those diagnosed with it should treat gluten like poison. Be sure to avoid cross-contamination from shared utensils and the likes as even the tiniest amounts can make you sick.

Gluten intolerance and sensitivity

Unlike celiac disease, which is a bit rare, non-celiac gluten sensitivity or intolerance is a fairly common problem and is characterized by adverse reactions to gluten. When people with these conditions consume gluten, they may experience a range of issues, including abdominal pain, bloating, and diarrhea.

Other conditions that may warrant avoiding gluten are wheat allergy, Gluten Ataxia, and Dermatitis Herpetiformis.

Suggested read: What is gluten? Common foods, conditions, and more

Tips for navigating any potential challenges

Combining a vegan and gluten-free diet can be a bit challenging as it involves eliminating several common foods from your daily meals. The good news is it is doable and many are managing quite fine. If you are new to both of these diets, here are a few tips to help you navigate through:

Conclusion: Veganism & gluten-free diets

As you can see veganism is different from a gluten-free diet and while there can be some overlap, these two dietary lifestyles are not interchangeable. I am personally vegan but not gluten-free, but I do like to take gluten-free challenges from time to time to try and live healthily. Like Oprah, I do love bread too much and I know what it does to my waistline.

Suggested read: The gluten-free diet: A beginner's guide with meal plan

Although vegan and gluten-free diets are unrelated, they can be combined to form a single eating regime as I have illustrated above. A vegan gluten-free diet offers several benefits. For starters, you get to have a healthy gut considering gluten is pretty hard to fully break down. Secondly, gluten is common in a lot of processed foods, which as we all know are not good for the body.

So, by avoiding it, you get to live a healthier life. A vegan gluten-free diet means a higher intake of fruits and vegetables, which are undoubtedly good for the body.

It’s important to note, however, that a vegan gluten-free diet means you’ll be further limiting your dietary choices and cutting off twice as many potential sources of nutrients for your body.

Therefore, while avoiding gluten is a must for anyone with the above-mentioned medical conditions, the rest of the population should carefully consider whether going vegan and gluten-free at the same time is really in their best interest. Consult with your healthcare provider before cutting off all those foods.

Share this article: Facebook Pinterest WhatsApp Twitter / X Email

More articles you might like

People who are reading “Do vegans eat gluten?” also love these articles:


Browse all articles